WORLDCON

Ladies and gentlemen, I am returned from Worldcon.

Of all the cons I’ve been to thus far, this has absolutely been the most successful in terms of the information I got out of it. It wasn’t the most fun I’ve ever had at a con (that’s PAXEast) nor was it the most well-organized con I’ve ever been to (… again, the award goes to PAXEast), but unlike every other convention I’ve ever seen I got a real sense of history. Worldcon has a weight to it, a sense of real history I’ve never seen at any con. Maybe it was because I got to meet the (in)famous David Kyle in person, maybe it was seeing the Hugo Awards and the most heartfelt acceptance speech I’ve ever seen anywhere ever, I’m not certain. I met a lot of people who all shoved business cards at me (and I at them!) and I hope I can remember to contact them all (seriously folks, I’m staring at this pile going WAIT… I THINK I REMEMBER YOU?)

Over the next few days, I’m going to be emailing everyone whose business cards I got and posting day-by-day con reports, starting with Thursday evening. I’ll also soon have my Kickstarter reward articles up (though those may take a while longer).

But speaking of Kickstarter: I owe pictures! Sadly I’m a pretty terrible photographer, and the con itself wasn’t all that glamorous. Worldcon stopped accepting outside sponsorships in the 50s (they used to take out large advertisements from SF publishers and magazines; now they pride themselves on being self-contained, at the expense of being one of the most expensive fan conventions in the US) so there were very few big displays, almost no hall costumers (though many steampunk outfits) and I didn’t get a chance to explore the Reno countryside.

Those of you who Pledged $10 or more on Kickstarter, please tell me what photographs you want (email me at conventioneering@gmail.com) and I’ll get them to you as soon as I can.

So, before I do anything else: THEM PICTURES!

If you’re in any of these pictures and you don’t want them up here, PLEASE email me (conventioneering@gmail.com) and let me know. Kickstarter people: Tell me which photos you want! Email, comments, whatever.

Next up: Day one of Worldcon.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kevin Riggle on August 31, 2011 - 5:45 am

    If you e-mail me the full-resolution versions of the pano photos taken from atop the Peppermill’s parking garage, I can stitch them into the full pano. (Or you can download and use Hugin too, it’s pretty slick, I just happen to have it set up.)

Leave a Reply

